On Blogging

Blogging is sort of a strange thing. It falls somewhere between a journal and a magazine. I entered into this blogging thing just over a year ago and I have not really looked back since. That is not to say I have ignored reflecting on blogging, quite the contrary, but rather have not given much thought to giving up blogging. Whatever the posts I write are to you, they are certainly beneficial to me.

This wide expanse of everything we call “the Internet” is both the most and the least unique place to share ideas. It is the most unique place because there is nothing like it at all. By no other medium can we communicate ideas with the speed and versatility as on the internet. With billions of images, graphs and the like at our disposal, along with countless links, we are capable of communicating just about anything we spend time attempting to communicate.

But you can choose to communicate those ideas through just about any method imaginable, even within the confines of the internet. This is why the Internet is not unique at all: it is almost just an extension of other forms of media. Twitter borrows from texting, Facebook is reminiscent of parties and social gatherings, and many websites are basically newspapers without the paper. Blogging is both a broad term and a broad tool. Some people use their blogs as a sort of public journal, attempting to write as if no one can read them. Others use blogs as essentially sources of news. Gizmodo is a good example of this — some people even forget it’s a blog.

This blog lands more on the journal side, but not a personal journal. We are all here at Push of Pikes attempting to explore and understand ideas bigger than ourselves and older than most news. These ideas sometimes are examined in light of current events, and we sometimes even discuss current events, but much of the time even that is discussed in light of something older (such as Christianity as a whole, morality, or some other such concept). I suppose that is just to say that we recognize that we live in history and remember to talk about it.

Regardless of how bizarre blogging can feel sometimes, we have to decide at least loosely what our role will be. As a blog, I hope that Push of Pikes adds some academic fervor to the blogosphere, as well as being a forum for discussion. We have all been thrilled when people comment on our blog, and I do not think there is a question asked in the comments that has gone unanswered. Granted, this may not be the case if the blog were to grow substantially, but our goal is to always be willing and open to discuss our ideas. After all, when you push out blogs at the speed we do, while doing other things full time, we do tend to miscommunicate on occasion.

Even fitting into a group blog is more different than not. As a matter of fact, I have had to sort of re-adjust when I joined Push of Pikes. While I was still going to be a blogger here, I needed to write things from a different perspective and with a different flair than my own blog. On my blog I tend to get particularly reflective and personal, but decided that might not be as appropriate for what is being done here. A few of my posts have been cross-listed (going in both directions), but there seems to be a different tone here. And even aside from changing my tone and attempting to write differently here, I also had to figure out how to interact with the other bloggers. I knew Nathan Bennett before coming here, but had not met Stephen Hale or Staples. From time to time I would interact with their blog posts, either in the comments or in another post. That lead to a new sort of writing I was not used to doing.

Blogging is a potentially powerful avenue for interacting with relevant and important ideas, both current and ancient. And I, for one, am glad to be a part of this system.

Christ Abide.

 

 

 

 

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

