Easter Meditations

[I’m taking a break from my Anarchy series for a few weeks as things heat up for me school-wise. I’ve been reading your comments, but the reason I haven’t been answering them is because I plan to address the questions they ask in later posts. Please don’t feel that I’ve been ignoring them.]

Easter kind of snuck up on me this year, which I didn’t like. Then my Anabaptist side doesn’t like the fact that I care. “Easter is a lifestyle, not a holiday, ” he tells me, and I know he’s right. Then I’m just disappointed  that I’ve been struggling to practice Easter as a lifestyle lately. It’s not so much that I’ve been going out and stabbing people to death or anything. It’s just that I haven’t been dwelling on what all my friends who practice Lent have been dwelling on for the last 40 days, when the whole reason I don’t practice Lent is that I believe I should be dwelling on the suffering, death, resurrection and work of Christ, and living out that resurrection in my daily life every day of the year. Ouch. Time to work on that again…

In lighter news, last year, around Easter, one of my college buddies called me up. Turns out that he was giving a sermon to a group of people who enjoy something that probably most Christians don’t care that much about: figuring out what day Jesus was crucified, and he wanted to capitalize on that interest in his sermon. Now, we both agreed quite quickly that this is about as far from being an essential of the Christian faith as you can get, but we both also agreed that there was worth in spending some time trying to figure out this issue. Sometimes the study of Scripture for the love of the fact that God has given us His word, with no practical or even strictly theological benefit, is a good thing. Sometimes, as with this issue, some practical worth can be found that isn’t immediately apparent.

We actually settled on the belief that Jesus was crucified on Wednesday. How, you ask? Well, that’s perhaps a topic for another post. We had a good discussion and he convinced me of his position by going through Scripture with me. The cool thing, though, was how he was going to work this into his sermon. He pointed out that Jesus did in fact keep His word when he prophesied that He would be in the ground for three days and three nights. The point of his sermon was that we can trust Jesus completely, because He did keep His word, even in the small details.

Of course, the ultimate point of all this is that Jesus did in fact rise from the dead, and we can trust in that as well. It’s sad that you can find flame-wars online about when Jesus was crucified, and it’s sad that these flame-wars turn people off to discussing this in a civil manner. It’s important to remember that, just a few hours before His crucifixion, Jesus prayed for Christians to be unified. It’s sad that the issue of what day this was, and many other, more important issues can split us. We should, I think, gain unity from these issues and from the discussion they can provide, loving the study of Scripture and edifying each other in the process. It is, after all, the glory of kings to search out a matter.

May you, and I, live the Resurrection, and the unity Christ prayed for, today and every day.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

